Toggle main menu

The Territory

The Riverina area is known as an agricultural region located in south western, NSW.  It is made up of a combination of flat plains, warm to hot climate and a large supply of water.  It has developed into an extremely productive and agriculturally diverse area.  Bordered in the south by Victoria and on the east by the Great Dividing Range.  It encompasses a large area and has numerous golf courses.

Major population and service centres in this area include Wagga Wagga, Albury and Griffith.  Jack Newton Junior Golf hosts one of its Junior Masters events in the Riverina territory at the Wagga Wagga Country Club.

Golf clubs within this territory fall into one of six District Golf Associations or Ladies Golf Associations.  The Southern Sports Academy is also located in the Riverina Territory and helps JNJG develop junior golf.

The Manager

Ross has a love of teaching and sport. He began work with JNJG in 2010 by developing a schools program and has been implementing this program ever since. Before that Ross was in primary education for over 28 years.  He was a principal for 11 of those years.  He developed the NSW Primary School Sports Association (PSSA) Exemplar sports programs.  Ross was the NSW PSSA Vice-President for six years.  He initiated the NSW PSSA Golf Championships, the NSW/Victoria golf exchange and was instrumental in primary golf being recognized as an Australian Sports Council sport.  Ross was also awarded life membership of the Sydney West and NSW PSS Associations.

After playing soccer at the top level (playing 1st grade in the state league at 17) Ross continued to play until the age of 29 when injuries caught up with him and he began to play golf socially. Ross loves the game, although it has not always loved him back but he continues to play as often as he can.

Ross has been a member of Leonay and Glenmore Heritage Valley Golf Clubs but is now a member of Twin Creeks Golf Club.  Ross has taken over the role of Territory Manager for the Riverina area on top of his role as the JNJG Schools Coordinator.

Golf Clubs

Barellan                                              Berrigan Golf and Bowling
Coleambally  Coolamon Sport and Recreation
Deniliquin Finley
Ganmain Goolgowi
Griffith Grong Grong
Hay Henty
Hillston Jerilderie Golf and Sports
Junee Kapooka 
Leeton Soldiers Lockhart
Narrandera Oaklands
The Rock Tooleybuc Sporting
Wagga City Wagga Wagga Country
Yenda Diggers  

District Golf Associations